Introducing MOM

Let me start by introducing myself. I am Samantha Lane. The Ring Leader of this circus. My husband, well, he helps keep our monkeys in their spot. I was a single mom when I met my husband in November of 2013. About 3  years ago I got a job as a Corrections Officer. As a cadet, I always thought this man that I had to stand by, was very attractive but oh so quiet. I drove back and forth to Reidsville, GA. Alone. It was a long ride. One day a couple of ladies came to me and asked if I drove from Jesup and if so, they had one more spot for carpool and you just had to provide gas for that week. Hell yeah. Where do I sign up? So I was scheduled to meet these wonderful ladies the next morning and ride with them to work. I was so excited to make some new friends. Thinking that I would be greeted by 3 ladies that morning, I was wrong. 2 ladies and 1 guy. Not a bad thing, I was down to make friends with everyone, but there was one problem. The man in the back seat was my “Job Crush”. All the way to work that morning I sat in a bubble with my box on my lap staring out the window(Not like I could see anything with it being 4AM and pitch black out), but I was doing everything I can to not make eye contact with him. Finally, I heard what his voice sounded like when he spoke for the first time to me. “You know, you can set your box down on top of mine if you would like.” Sweet sounds coming from his mouth embarrassed me more. I squeaked out the words, “I’m good”. He just giggled a little that made my heart flutter. I knew he knew I had a Job Crush on him. Well as December was coming to a close, I found out he was single. So I told him I was going to the bar for New Years Eve and I knew he liked to have a few drinks so I asked if he would like to join me. I was the DD. I don’t drink that much if at all. He kindly accepted. As we rang in the New Years, we shared our first kiss. I will never forget that moment. January 1st, 2014. He made my heart about shoot out of my chest. We finally came to the “Dating” status the middle of the month. And, as time went on, he was the first to say “I love you.” I knew from the beginning he was what I was looking for in my life. He loved me and my son like his own. We were engaged by August that year and pregnant as well. His first child. Married on October 21st, 2014. Our lives were fixing to change forever. In more ways than just bringing a child into this world. Placeholder Image

Leave a Reply

